Located beside Kandawgyi Lake and the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda.
1901: Yangon Zoo was founded in 1901 with the sum of K240,000 of public money, developed at the present location after 61 acres of virgin land was cleared. On 25th January 1906 the zoo was officially opened, named as the Victoria Memorial Park and Zoological Gardens in honor of Queen Victoria.
1951: Burmese government changed the name to the Rangoon Zoological Gardens and Parks, later changed to Yangoon zoo.
2008: About 420 animals were relocated to the Naypyidaw Zoo.
2020: Yangon Zoo is noted for having Mo Mo, the oldest resident in the zoo, who turns 67 this October. She was born in Loikaw in 1953, and arrived in Yangon at the age of seven. Mo Mo is a female elephant, and has never mated with any of the male elephants. She remains single to this day. The animal adoption program includes three other female elephants – Myo Myo, Ma Hla Chaw and Ma Chaw Lay. They are fed on 10 pounds of wheat, jaggery, salt and 300 pounds of grass twice a day. The cost of adopting one of these pachyderms is K500,000 for one month.